Antigua and Barbuda Politics

Curious about politics in Antigua and Barbuda? This page may shed some light.

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA - Prime Minister Gaston Browne
Gaston Browne
4th Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda
Assumed office
13 June 2014
Image credit

Antigua and Barbuda follows a parliamentary democracy political structure. The country is an independent sovereign nation within the Commonwealth, with a constitutional monarchy as its framework. The head of state is Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a Governor-General who is appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister. The Governor-General’s role is largely ceremonial, and executive power is vested in the Prime Minister, who is the head of government. The Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party in the parliament and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the country.

The parliament of Antigua and Barbuda is bicameral, consisting of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House of Representatives comprises elected members who represent specific constituencies, while the Senate consists of appointed members, including senators chosen by the Governor-General and senators selected by the opposition leader. The parliament is responsible for making and passing laws, approving the national budget, and scrutinizing the government’s activities. 

The political structure in Antigua and Barbuda allows for democratic representation, checks and balances, and a separation of powers, ensuring a functioning system of governance.

Unless other sources are listed, original content is provided by ChatGPT.  ChatGPT may produce inaccurate information about people, places, or facts.  #AntiguaandBarbuda #AntiguaandBarbudaPolitics #AntiguaandBarbudaNews #AntiguaandBarbudaNewsToday #AntiguaandBarbudaRSSFeed #BlahFace