Guatemala Politics

This page explores Guatemala’s political structure incorporating real-time RSS feed news and videos. By harnessing the power of RSS feeds, visitors can stay informed about the latest developments in Guatemala’s politics as they happen. The dynamic nature of these feeds ensures that users receive up-to-the-minute updates on political events, policy changes, and significant milestones, enabling them to stay abreast of the ever-evolving political scene.

GUATEMALA - President Alejandro Giammattei
Alejandro Giammattei
51st President of Guatemala
Assumed office
14 January 2020
Image credit

Guatemala operates under a unitary presidential republic system, where the President of Guatemala is both the head of state and the head of government. The government is structured according to the principles of separation and independence of powers.

The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system, serving a four-year term. The President holds significant authority including the power to appoint and dismiss ministers and other government officials, enact laws passed by the Congress, conduct foreign affairs, and is the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. The President also appoints a Vice President who assists in executing these responsibilities and assumes the presidency in case of the President’s absence.

The legislative branch is represented by the Congress of the Republic, a unicameral body comprising 160 deputies serving four-year terms. Congress is responsible for proposing, studying, and approving legislation, as well as supervising the activities of the other branches of government. The judiciary is independent of the executive and legislative branches, with the Constitutional Court serving as the highest tribunal in matters of constitutional law. The judicial system also includes the Supreme Court, appellate courts, lower courts, and other tribunals established by law.

Unless other sources are listed, original content is provided by ChatGPT.  ChatGPT may produce inaccurate information about people, places, or facts.  #Guatemala #GuatemalaPolitics #GuatemalaNews #GuatemalaNewsToday #GuatemalaRSSFeed #BlahFace