Lesotho Politics

This page explores Lesotho’s political structure incorporating real-time RSS feed news and videos. By harnessing the power of RSS feeds, visitors can stay informed about the latest developments in Lesotho’s politics as they happen. The dynamic nature of these feeds ensures that users receive up-to-the-minute updates on political events, policy changes, and significant milestones, enabling them to stay abreast of the ever-evolving political scene.

LESOTHO - Prime Minister Moeketsi Majoro
Moeketsi Majoro
6th Prime Minister of Lesotho
Assumed office
20 May 2020
Image credit

Lesotho, officially known as the Kingdom of Lesotho, operates as a parliamentary constitutional monarchy. The political structure of Lesotho is characterized by a system of shared powers among the monarchy, executive branch, legislative branch, and judicial branch.

At the top of the political structure is the King of Lesotho, who serves as the ceremonial head of state. The King’s role is largely symbolic, and the monarchy does not hold executive or legislative powers. The executive power is vested in the Prime Minister, who is the head of government. The Prime Minister is appointed by the King, but their selection is typically based on the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly, Lesotho’s legislative body.

The legislative branch is represented by the bicameral Parliament of Lesotho, which consists of the National Assembly and the Senate. The National Assembly is the lower house and comprises members elected through a mixed-member proportional representation system. The Senate is the upper house and is composed of members appointed by the King, on the advice of the Prime Minister and other bodies. The Parliament is responsible for making laws, approving the national budget, and providing oversight of the executive branch.

The judicial branch in Lesotho is independent and consists of a hierarchy of courts. The Court of Appeal serves as the highest judicial authority, followed by the High Court and the Magistrate Courts. The judiciary is responsible for interpreting and applying the law, ensuring the protection of rights, and resolving legal disputes. In conclusion, Lesotho’s political structure is characterized by a parliamentary constitutional monarchy. The King holds a ceremonial role, while executive power rests with the Prime Minister and legislative power with the bicameral Parliament. The judiciary operates independently and upholds the rule of law.

Unless other sources are listed, original content is provided by ChatGPT.  ChatGPT may produce inaccurate information about people, places, or facts.  #Lesotho #LesothoPolitics #LesothoNews #LesothoNewsToday #LesothoRSSFeed #BlahFace